Home Featured Congress leading in Mizoram

Congress leading in Mizoram

Congress leading in Mizoram

Congress leading in MizoramAizawl, Dec nine: The ruling Congress was in an upbeat mood in Mizoram with its candidates leading in thirteen of the sixteen constituencies that trends were out there as count of votes for the 40-member state assembly began Monday. It conjointly won one seat, aforesaid the officers.

“In the South Tuipui seat, Congress candidate John Siamkunga was declared elective , defeating opposition ZNP (Zoram Nationalist Party) campaigner J.Lalchhuana by a margin of 1,568 votes,” a state commission official told reporters.

According to the commission, the opposition Mizoram Democratic Alliance, light-emitting diode by the Mizo National Front (MNF), is leading in 2 seats.

All the sixteen seats, trends that are out there to this point, are in southern and northern Mizoram, bordering Myanmar and Bangladesh.

Unlike assembly polls in 2008, the Congress did well in southern Mizoram.

Over 81 % of the whole of 690,860 voters exercised their franchise November twenty five.

Postal ballots are being counted 1st, followed by votes recorded within the electronic choice machines (EVMs).

The results would decide the fate of 142 candidates, as well as six ladies.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, conjointly the state Congress chief, is contesting from 2 constituencies – Serchhip, his home turf, and close Hrangturzo – whereas opposition MNF chief Zoramthanga is testing his electoral fortunes from Tuipui East, bordering Myanmar.

The main poll battle is between the ruling Congress and opposition coalition Mizoram Democratic Alliance, comprising the MNF, Mizoram People’s Conference and Maraland Democratic Front, all regional parties.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, that has very little base within the state, Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) {and the|and therefore the|and conjointly the} Nationalist Congress Party also oppose, fielding candidates on several seats.

Of the forty constituencies, thirty-nine are reserved for tribals and just one is for general class.

In the last assembly elections in 2008, the Congress won thirty two seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here