Recent Match Report – West Indies vs South Africa 3rd T20I 2022/23


Toss South Africa chose to bowl vs West Indies

South Africa will unleash a full-strength pace pack on West Indies in the deciding T20I at the Wanderers. Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi were all named in the starting XI after only Nortje played the first match, but was rotated out of the second, which Rabada was part of. Ngidi has not played a T20I in this series so far but was brought in place of a second specialist spinner on what should be a surface with good pace and bounce.Wayne Parnell provides a fourth seam bowling option, with Marco Jansen left out of this match. South Africa opted for one specialist spinner in left-armer Bjorn Fortuin, who played his domestic cricket at this venue, and have Aiden Markram on hand for more slow bowling if needed.

West Indies also went with their strongest seam attack and brought Alzarri Joseph back after he sat out the second game. Odean Smith missed out while Roston Chase replaced Akeal Hosein in the spin department.

Chasing has proved effective on the Highveld in this series so far, with West Indies winning a shortened 11-over encounter on Saturday and South Africa gunning down a record 259 to level the series on Sunday. Both matches were played on a good surface at SuperSport Park. The Wanderers promised more of the same in its penultimate international of the season. South Africa will play Netherlands at the same ground next Sunday in a must-win World Cup Super League ODI, and it could well be that they have opted to test their strongest bowling combination in this match to prepare for that encounter.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Rilee Rossouw, 4 Aiden Markram (capt), 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 David Miller, 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Bjorn Fortuin, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Lungi Ngidi

West Indies: 1 Kyle Mayers, 2 Brandon King, 3 Johnson Charles, 4 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 5 Rovman Powell (capt), 6 Raymon Reifer, 7 Romario Shepherd, 8 Roston Chase, 9 Sheldon Cottrell, 10 Alzarri Joseph 11 Jason Holder



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here